The idea for the brand

When you receive an email on a rainy February Sunday from a co-worker who had stumbled upon another forgotten idea while cleaning up his computer, you are initially very curious:

There is talk of more regionality in the procurement of raw materials, of transparency for the customer, of self-set targets for reducing CO2 emissions. These are all topics that have occupied me since I joined the management team a few months earlier.

How can we, as a medium-sized, traditional malt house with high standards for ourselves, hold our own against the big players?! What can we do better? What do we do differently? What makes us special?

There were now many answers to these questions in front of me and it was easy for us in the coming weeks to further develop the idea of Slow MALTING in such a way that we could identify with it in our daily work. The initial tentative hints from our customers to make the future path of the company more regional, transparent and sustainable met with such great approval and support that the path from an idea to a brand became steadily more concrete. It seemed as if we were voicing what so many of our growers as well as customers already held in their hearts. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

What was still missing? The concept was in place, we knew about the support of the producers and the demand from the breweries. The child urgently needed a name. Slow MALTING seemed to describe the concept perfectly. And thanks to the enthusiasm of a graphic designer friend, designing the logo was also a breeze. Now that the Slow Malting flags are flying in the wind in front of our malt house, it makes us proud to have realized our beliefs and goals with such a likeable brand. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Working on this project from day one has been such a joy and has comforted us through many a gloomy day in the daily life of a malt house. Slow malting has sworn us together as a team and made us confident that we will continue to lead the company into future generations. Now we have to take the idea out: into the region, into the country. The response so far has always been characterized by a return to what happens locally, what grows locally, what sustains local jobs. When you drive through Lower Franconia in early summer, past countless beautifully standing barley fields, when you talk to farmers who know the soil of their fields inside out and who see their work as their life's work, then we know that we are on the right track. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

We love our work.
We love our craftsmanship.
We love beer.

Die Idee zur Marke

Wenn man an einem verregneten Februar Sonntag eine Mail von einem Mitarbeiter erhält, der beim Aufräumen seines Rechners wieder auf eine in Vergessenheit geratene Idee gestoßen war, dann ist man zunächst sehr neugierig:

Da ist die Rede von mehr Regionalität bei der Beschaffung von Rohstoffen, von Transparenz für den Kunden, von selbst gesteckten Zielen zur Verringerung des CO2 Ausstoßes. Alles Themen, die mich seit meinem Eintritt in die Geschäftsführung einige Monate zuvor beschäftigten.

Wie können wir als mittelständische, traditionelle Mälzerei mit einem hohen Anspruch an uns selbst bestehen gegen die Großen?! Was können wir besser? Was machen wir anders? Was macht uns besonders?

Da lagen nun viele Antworten dieser Fragen vor mir und es fiel uns in den kommenden Wochen leicht, die Idee vom Slow MALTING so weiterzuentwickeln, dass wir uns in unserer täglichen Arbeit damit identifizieren können. Die anfänglich zaghaften Andeutungen bei unseren Kunden, den zukünftigen Weg des Unternehmens regionaler, transparenter und nachhaltiger zu gestalten, stieß auf so große Zustimmung und Unterstützung, dass sich der Weg von einer Idee zur Marke stetig konkretisierte. Es schien, als würden wir das aussprechen, was so viele unserer Erzeuger sowie Kunden bereits im Herzen trugen.

Was fehlte noch? Das Konzept stand, wir wussten um die Unterstützung der Erzeuger und um die Nachfrage der Brauereien. Das Kind brauchte dringend einen Namen. Slow MALTING schien das Konzept perfekt zu beschreiben. Und Dank der Begeisterung einer befreundeten Grafikerin war auch die Gestaltung des Logos eine Leichtigkeit. Nun, da die Slow Malting Fahnen vor unserer Mälzerei im Wind wehen, macht es uns stolz, unsere Überzeugungen und Ziele mit einer so sympathischen Marke verwirklicht zu haben.

Die Arbeit an diesem Projekt hat vom ersten Tag an so viel Freude gemacht und uns über so manchen trüben Tag im Alltag einer Mälzerei getröstet. Das Slow Malting hat uns als Team zusammen geschworen und uns zuversichtlich gemacht, das Unternehmen auch in die kommenden Generationen zu führen. Nun gilt es, die Idee hinaus zu tragen: in die Region, ins Land. Die Resonanz war bisher immer gesprägt von einer Rückbesinnung auf das, was vor Ort geschieht, was vor Ort wächst, was vor Ort Arbeitsplätze erhält. Wenn man im Frühsommer durch Unterfranken fährt, vorbei an unzähligen wunderbar stehenden Gerstenfeldern, wenn man mit den Landwirten spricht, die die Böden ihrer Felder genau kennen und die ihre Arbeit als Lebensaufgabe sehen, dann wissen wir, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind.

Wir lieben unsere Arbeit.
Wir lieben unser Handwerk.
Wir lieben Bier.